Post Script: Trust In Me – Sophie McKenzie

Trust in Me

Trust In Me

Sophie McKenzie

Simon & Schuster

A CBS Company

ISBN: 9781471111761

 

Description:

Sophie McKenzie is the award winning author of more than fifteen book and short stories for children, which have sold nearly a million copies in the UK alone. Her first psychological thriller for adults, Close My Eyes, was a Richard and Judy Summer Pick, sold nearly one hundred thousand copies, received rave reviews, and was translated around the world.

TRUST IN ME offers another master class in tight plotting, frighteningly plausible scenarios and the dangers and perils that lurk in everyday relationships. For fans of Gillian Flynn and Linwood Barclay, this page turning, heart-pounding thriller will be supported by a huge marketing and PR campaign upon publication.

 

Julia has always been the friend that Livy turns to when life is difficult. United fifteen years ago by grief at the brutal murder of Livy’s sister, Kara, they’ve always told each other everything.

Or so Livy thought.

So when Julia is found dead in her home, Livy cannot come to terms with the news that she chose to end her own life. The Julia that Livy knew was vibrant and vivacious, a far cry from the selfish neurotic that her family seem determined to paint her as.

Troubled by doubt but alone in her suspicions, Livy sets out to prove that Julia was in fact murdered. But little does she realise that digging into her best friend’s private life will cause her to question everything she thought she knew about Julia. And the truth that Livy discovers will tear the very fabric of her own life apart.

 

 

My View:

This was an exciting and mesmerising read and the first book I have read where I was actually tempted to peak at the final chapters to see who the villain was, tempting as it was I managed to use constraint and read through the night to finish and discover the truth. My opinion of who was the murderer seemed to shift which each revealing chapter and with each red herring the author casually threw my way; towards the end I had three possible contenders and even then didn’t guess the actual murderer or understand his warped rationale for committing his crimes.

 

I enjoyed the alternating voices of this narrative – the voice of Libby – a character that you will empathise with, who you will walk hand in hand to the conclusion of this gripping and intense story and then the other voice, of the demented and evil murderer, a voice that is so creepy you will not believe how he flits in and out of society virtually unscathed and undiscovered until the end.

 

The “experiment” recorded early in the book repulsed me; the unemotional, casual, matter of fact approach to this act of cruelty was shocking and paved the way for future acts of brutality and bullying, all carried out in the same emotion free, guilt free manner. Conscience or the lack permits such terrible acts. This is a great psychological thriller. Enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Post Script: Trust In Me – Sophie McKenzie

  1. Carol – I’m glad you enjoyed it so well. It sounds pretty brutal, too. But then, psychological thrillers can be that way. And that events-from-the-past plot point can be very effective. I may give this a go if the violence level isn’t too outrageous.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.