Post Script: Almost Love – Louise O’Neil

Almost Love

Almost Love
Louise O’Neil
riverrun
Hachette Australia
ISBN: 9781784298869

 

Description:

If it doesn’t hurt, it’s not love: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of Asking for It. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

 

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.

 

So it doesn’t matter that he’s twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she’s sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him.

 

Sarah’s friends are worried. Her father can’t understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she’s on the verge of losing her job.

 

But Sarah can’t help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew.

 

And love is supposed to hurt.

 

Isn’t it?

 

 

 

My View:

Raw, gutsy, evocative, provocative…what more can I say? This is brilliant!

 

I have never read a book where the unlikeable protagonist actually makes the narrative work – and believe me Sarah is not a very nice person – or is she? I actually have a fair bit of empathy for Sarah, I see the broken person trying to carry on with life, and I see situations that are hauntingly accurate. Life is portrayed in shocking realism, relationships in all their hues are displayed garishly, shockingly, provocatively; almost love, addicted to love? Addicted to being needed, to being wanted.

 

Could you like Sarah when she doesn’t even like herself?

 

A stunning look at relationships that will, at times, make you cringe at their realness.

 

I would love to read more by this author.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.