#FridayFeebie – A Murder at Malabar Hill – Sujata Massey

A Murder at Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey

Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 97817601529406

This book has won so many *awards!  For your chance to win a copy – I have five to give away, simply tell me ( in the comments) Perveens Mistery’s occupation.   ** Open to Australian residents only, winners drawn randomly on 1/2/020)**

 

*Winner and Top Pick of the 2019 American Library Association Reading List for Mystery
*Winner of the 2019 Mary Higgins Clark Award
*Winner of the 2019 Lefty Award for Best Historical Novel
*Winner of the the 2018 Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel
*Finalist for the 2019 Shamus Award
*Finalist for the 2019 Harper Lee Legal Fiction Prize

‘Marvelously plotted, richly detailed . . . This is a first-rate performance inaugurating a most promising series.’ The Washington Post

‘Perveen Mistry has all the pluck you want in a sleuthing lawyer, as well as a not-so-surprising – but decidedly welcome – proclivity for poking her nose into the business of others. The pages do indeed fly.’ The Globe and Mail

Introducing Miss Perveen Mistry, the star of an outstanding new crime series. This courageous, likeable and determined young lawyer-turned-sleuth will appeal to readers of Phryne Fisher and Precious Ramotswe in a stunning combination of crime and mystery set in 1920s Bombay.

Armed with a legal education from Oxford, Perveen Mistry has joined her father’s law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India.

Mistry Law has been appointed to execute the will of Mr Omar Farid, a wealthy mill owner who has left three widows behind. But as Perveen examines the paperwork, she notices something strange: all three wives have signed over their full inheritance to a charity. What future will they have?

Perveen is suspicious, especially since one of the widows has signed her form with an X-could she even read the document? The Farid widows live in strict seclusion, never leaving the women’s quarters or speaking to any men. With her own tragic history close to her heart, Perveen worries that the women are vulnerable to injustice.

As Perveen comes closer to the truth, tensions escalate to murder, the widows fall under suspicion and Perveen must figure out what’s really happening on Malabar Hill.

‘ . . . a splendid first instalment in what promises to be a memorable series.’ The Wall Street Journal 

25 thoughts on “#FridayFeebie – A Murder at Malabar Hill – Sujata Massey

  1. I can’t see my comments on the page. Are they making it at all, I don’t know. lol.
    This will be my third and final attempt to get a comment here.
    OK. Fingers crossed.

    She is one of the first female lawyers in India.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.