#FridayFreebie: The Bluffs – Kyle Perry

The Bluffs

Kyle Perry

Michael Joseph

Penguin Random House 

ISBN: 9781760895679

RRP $32.99

 

Description:

At the bottom of the world, there is an island. It is a land of rugged wilderness, of ice and snow and blistering heat … They say extinct tigers still roam there. They say other things roam, too.

When a school group of teenage girls go missing in the remote wilderness of Tasmania’s Great Western Tiers, the people of Limestone Creek are immediately on alert. Not long ago, six young girls went missing in the area of those dangerous bluffs, and the legends of ‘the Hungry Man’ still haunt locals to this day.

Now, authorities can determine that the teacher, Eliza Ellis, was knocked unconscious, so someone on the mountain was up to foul play. Jordan Murphy, father of missing student Jasmine and the town’s local dealer, instantly becomes prime suspect, but Detective Con Badenhorst knows that in a town this size – with corrupt cops, small-town politics, and a teenage YouTube sensation – anyone could be hiding something, and bluffing comes second nature.

When a body is found, mauled, at the bottom of a cliff, suspicion turns to a wild animal – but that can’t explain why she, like all victims past and present, was discovered barefoot, with her shoes found nearby, laces neatly tied.

What happened up there on the bluffs? Somebody knows… unless the local legends are true…

 

 

**Today I have one copy The Bluffs to giveaway  thanks to Penguin Random House Australia  (Australian residents only) To enter in the comments let me know where this book is set. I will randomly select a winner on the 18th of July 2020**

What Did You Do This Weekend?

I had a fabulous time;a trip to Fremantle to take 3 paintings to be included in an exhibition at Studio 11 in Captains Lane. At the exhibition I won a high commendation for one of the pieces, and sold that piece too! Then had dinner out with husband and my daughter who lives in Perth – what a magical day.

#FridayFreebie : Finding Eadie – Caroline Beecham

Finding Eadie

Caroline Beecham

Allen & Unwin Australia

ISBN: 9781760529642

 

Description:

London 1943: War and dwindling resources are taking their toll on the staff of Partridge Press. The pressure is on to create new books to distract readers from the grim realities of the war, but Partridge’s rising star, Alice Cotton, leaves abruptly and cannot be found.

Alice’s secret absence is to birth her child, and although her baby’s father remains unnamed, Alice’s mother promises to help her raise her tiny granddaughter, Eadie. Instead, she takes a shocking action.

Theo Bloom is employed by the American office of Partridge. When he is tasked with helping the British publisher overcome their challenges, Theo has his own trials to face before he can return to New York to marry his fiancee.

Inspired by real events during the Second World War, Finding Eadie is a story about the triumph of three friendships bound by hope, love, secrets and the belief that books have the power to change lives.

PRAISE FOR ELEANOR’S SECRET
‘Fans of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton will very much enjoy this new release and the dual time zones mean the book will appeal to a broader audience.’ Debbishdotcom

PRAISE FOR MAGGIE’S KITCHEN
‘Extremely engaging . . . reads like the work of a veteran storyteller.’

 

 

Thanks to the generous people at Allen & Unwin Australia I have 3 copies of Finding Eadie to giveaway to residents of Australia. It’s easy to enter – simply answer this question in the comments before 10/7/020: name the publishing company Alice worded for.  Winners will be randomly selected from all entries.  Good luck and thanks for entering.

 

 

**check your emails – winners have been notified.**

#FridayFreebie ; The Lost Summers of Driftwood – Vanessa McCausland

 

The Lost Summers of Driftwood

Vanessa McCausland

Harper Collins

ISBN: 9781460757680

 

This is such a gently written yet revealing read – for your chance to win a copy of this thought provoking read, answer this question – how did Karin write a note to her family? ** Giveaway for Australian residents only and kindly supplied by Harper Collins Publishers Australia.  **

 

Winner randomly selected on 17th January 2020

 

 

**Veronica is the lucky winner – check your emails please.**

Khaki Town: Judy Nunn – Competition

To celebrate the release of Khaki Town by Judy Nunn, we’re giving you the chance to win a trip to Townsville, including flights, accommodation and a scenic tour to experience its history and understand the inspiration behind the novel.

One winner and their nominated companion will win the trip worth up to $2500, including the following:

  • Return flights to Townsville from a capital city in Australia
  • 2 nights’ accommodation in Townsville
  • A guided tour of  Townsville Military History plus Scenic Tour Package
  • Prize to be redeemed between the 1st May 2020 to 30th September 2020

To enter, simply purchase a copy of Khaki Town by Judy Nunn and then complete the form below. The chosen winner must provide proof of purchase to redeem prize. Entry form here:  

**This promotion commences on 1 October 2019 at 9:00am AEST and concludes on 31 January 2020 at 11:59pm AEST. In order to redeem this prize the winner will have to show proof of purchase. Entrants must be an Australian resident. Entrants aged under 18 years must obtain the consent and agreement of their parent or legal guardian to enter this promotion and be bound by these Conditions of Entry.**

 

#FridayFreebie : Wearing Paper Dresses – Anne Brinsden

WEARING PAPER DRESSES

Anne Brinsden

Pan Macmillan Australia

https://www.panmacmillan.com.au/9781760784850/

RRP $32.99

Thanks to the generous people at Pan Macmillan Australia  I have one copy of this 5 star book to give away on my blog.  In the comments state what colour the sand is in the Mallee. **hint see description here.

 

**This easy competition is open to Australian residents only.Entries close 5th October 2019 and the winner will be randomly selected. **

#FridayFreebie: I Love My Mum Because – Petra James and Alissa Dinallo

**Rockbilby is the lucky winner. **

I Love My Mum Because

Thanks to Pan Macmillan Australia I have one copy of this gorgeous book to give away. Simply check out Pan Macmillan’s  website:  https://www.panmacmillan.com.au/9781760784386/   and in the comments list one other book by this author.

 

**Open to Australian residents only. Entries close 6th April 2019**

 

Good luck.

Do You Collect Signed by Author Limited Editions?

I was very fortunate to win a gorgeous, limited edition, advanced readers copy of a book I have already heard so many good things about.

I love the cover art, the copper foil ( copper is my new favourite pigment to use in my art) is stunning.

Opening the cover – I am the proud owner of book 34of 150 signed by the author Stacey Halls.

I look forward to reading this provocative narrative set in the times of the Pendle Hill Witch Trials which explores women’s friendships, women’s rights and explores the question “was witch hunting really women hunting?” 

Friday Freebie: Call to Arms – Rachel Amphlett

Call to Arms

 

The talented and generous Rachel Amphlett has offered 3 readers of my blog a chance to win an ebook (Kindle or ePub) copy of her latest release  Call to Arms  – which is book five in her Kay Hunter series. Check out Brenda’s 5star review of Call to Arms here:   https://wp.me/p3aMo4-39H

To enter, simply pop over to Rachel’s website www.rachelamphlett.com   and check out the Kay Hunter Series page and in the comments section of this post identify another title in the Kay Hunter series. Easy isnt it?

 

This giveaway will be open until the 16th of April 2018. Good luck.

 

 

***Pam, Anne and Lesley – congratulations you are the lucky winners. I have emailed Rachel your  contact details. Let me know via a comment on this page how you enjoyed the book.  ***

 

Tell Me How You Pause…

It is Freebie Friday! To win a copy of the outstanding book Pause: How to press pause before life does it for you by Danielle Marchant ($19.99), published by Hachette Australia, in the comments tell me how you pause.

How to press pause

 

** This competition is open to Australian residents only and the winner will be randomly selected on Wednesday the 1st of November 2017. Thanks Hachette Australia for the opportunity to host this great giveaway.

 

 

****The winner is Brett. Thanks to all who entered.