One Goal Achieved…

I reduced my reading expectations this year knowing that life would be busy once our grandson came along.  And it has been – beautifully, spectacularly and gorgeously busy. Being a grandparent is the best experience – so much love!

 

Anyway enough of my gushing. I did achieve my Goodreads challenge (150 books) and will add a few more reads and reviews before the year is out. Next I must update my Australian reading challenges pages…

 

good-reads 2016

Since I decided to blog my book reviews my ideas, ambitions and reviewing skills have changed as my experience has grown.   This year, as I mentioned life has been busy and so I am considering adding the occasional guest reviewer to keep the blog fresh and to provide me with some breathing space to catch up on some of my reviews. What do you think to that idea?

Finally I share my dream for the future – to be paid to read and review… if you know how I can make this happen, let me know:)  This would be the most perfect job!  Dreaming…yes I know.

 

 

Post Script: What She Left – T. R. Richmond

What She Left

What She Left

R. Richmond

Penguin UK – Michael Joseph

Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780718179366

 

Description:

What She Left is a touching and exciting novel that surprises at every turn. Recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Jane Shemilt’s Daughter.

 

The Book

When Alice Salmon died last year, the ripples were felt in the news, on the internet, and in the hearts of those who knew her best.

But the person who knows her most intimately isn’t family or a friend. Dr Jeremy Cook is an academic whose life has become about piecing together Alice’s existence in all its flawed and truthful reality.

For Cooke, faithfully recreating Alice’s life – through her diaries, emails and anything using her voice – is all-consuming. He does not know how deep his search will take him, or the shocking nature of what he will uncover…

 

 

My View:

An interesting premise, that, ironically I thought was not best delivered in electronic format (ironic as the novel relies of the footprints of social media to share this story); for me this is largely about formatting – I always enlarge the font on my ereader and consequently this disrupts the original pagination which confused me as to whose voice I was hearing and in what time frame (I am assuming that if I had read this in paperback I would have noticed the page breaks/new entries/voices and followed the story easier). Unfortunately I found the constant skipping back and forth in time a little confusing and hard work to read and not compelling. But that is just me.

 

Update – the physical book arrived in the mail this week – just flicking though it I can see it will be much easier to read and keep up with events than in the ebook.