Post Script: The Gracekeepers – Kirsty Logan – Audio Book

Cover The Gracekeepers

The Grace Keepers

Kirsty Logan

Bolinda

Penguin Random House

ISBN: 9781101890585

9 hours 19 minutes

Description:

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

 

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

 

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

 

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

 

 

 

My View:

Dystopian, fantasy, Scottish myths and fairy tales – this audio book narrated by the author is lyrical, poetic and mesmerising. For me the greatest quality of this book was the narration – I could listen to Kirsty Logan read her works for ever. The accent, the gentleness, the gracefulness of her voice had me mesmerised. I have read reviews of the physical book and the reviewers has suggested listening to the audio book first – and I can understand why, Kirsty Logan’s voice adds a magical touch to this Celtic fairy tale.

 

Listen to an excerpt here: http://www.bolinda.com/audioexcerpts/9781486289295.mp3