Review: The Shadow Man – Helen Sarah Fields

The Shadow Man

Helen Sarah Fields

Avon

Harper Collins Aust

ISBN: 9780008394073

Description:

The brand new crime thriller from the bestselling author of the Perfect series – Helen Fields is back with her first stand-alone novel!

 

He collects his victims. But he doesn’t keep them safe.

 

Elspeth, Meggy and Xavier are locked in a flat. They don’t know where they are, and they don’t know why they’re there. They only know that the shadow man has taken them, and he won’t let them go.

 

Desperate to escape, the three of them must find a way out of their living hell, even if it means uncovering a very dark truth.

 

Because the shadow man isn’t a nightmare. He’s all too real.

 

And he’s watching.

 

Helen Fields is back with a heart-pounding new book, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Stuart MacBride.

 

 

My View:

 

Without a doubt one of the scariest, creepiest books I have read. Fabulous!!!

 

Enough said- if you crime fiction is your thing – READ THIS.

Post Script: Play Dead – Angela Marsons

Play Dead

Play Dead

D.I Kim Stone Book Four

Angela Marsons

Bookouture

ISBN: 9781786810076

 

Description:

The dead don’t tell secrets… unless you listen.

The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess.

 

Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her team discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime.

 

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover? And who is next?

 

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?

 

The latest utterly addictive thriller from the No.1 bestseller Angela Marsons.

 

 

My View:

Another fantastic episode in this series. What I love about this is we get a chance to know Kim Stone a little better, gain a bit more knowledge of her history and see her fragility and humanness.   Angela Marsons writes great character driven narratives with complex and spine chilling plots!

 

The creepy voice of the “child” who narrates some chapters makes my skin crawl!  “One for you and one for me…”  However Marsons provides us with enough “back story” here so that we hear/see this character with just a tinge of compassion, we don’t accept the behaviours but we can understand how this monster was created.

 

There are plenty of shades of grey, complex moral dilemmas in this novel to make you think.

 

And there are more than a few surprises in this book.  I am not going to reveal them – you will just have to read the book yourself J

 

 

 

Post Script: A Pleasure and A Calling – Phil Hogan

The narrator has a quiet and understated sinister voice; listen carefully to his duplicitous story.

A Pleasure and a Calling

Phil Hogan

Random House UK, Transworld Publishers

Doubleday

ISBN: 9780857521880

 

Description:

You won’t remember Mr Heming. He showed you round your comfortable home, suggested a sustainable financial package, negotiated a price with the owner and called you with the good news. The less good news is that, all these years later, he still has the key.

That’s absurd, you laugh. Of all the many hundreds of houses he has sold, why would he still have the key to mine?

The answer to that is, he has the keys to them all.

William Heming’s every pleasure is in his leafy community. He loves and knows every inch of it, feels nurtured by it, and would defend it – perhaps not with his life but if it came to it, with yours…

My View:

This was a very interesting read, a quietly told tale of many, many crimes that unfold over a life time of treachery; small acts of mischievousness and sinister actions that thrive and grow to become acts of unthinkable ugliness with deadly consequence. Lives are discarded without remorse or emotion, ordinariness is a cloak this psychopath wears particularly well.

This is a beguiling read; the slow, straightforward relating of this tale in the first person cleverly builds tension and creates mystery… the reader does not get the full picture immediately but is fed crumbs that lead us to a path of death and mayhem. As you turn each page you will continue to wonder where this story is heading, and will question what is to happen next, you will become involved and eager for more information, more intimate knowledge of “Mr Ordinary”, Mr Heming. As he is a voyeur of other peoples worlds we are voyeurs’ of his, how very, very clever!

Post Script: Mostly Murder – Linda Ladd

Voodoo, murder, gators and The Scary Man… This book is creepy!

Mostly Murder

Linda Ladd

Kensington Books

eKensington

ISBN: 9781601830517

 

Description:

A tough, no-nonsense detective…edgy, clever!” —Beverly Barton

Mostly Fear

She suffered a terrifying coma. She survived a serial killer’s obsession. Now homicide detective Claire Morgan hopes to forget the nightmare of her Missouri past in the city of New Orleans. But when a body is discovered near her home, her darkest fears come rushing back

Mostly Superstition

Surrounded by candles and skulls, the victim is bound to an altar like a human sacrifice. More disturbing to Claire is the voodoo doll in the woman’s hands. A doll pierced with pins and wearing a picture on its face. A picture of Claire Morgan…

Mostly Murder

Claire doesn’t believe in voodoo. But she does believe in the power of superstition to warp a person’s mind and feed a killer’s madness. It is here, in the muddy bayous where it festers, that Claire must face her fear head on—and meet the man who’s marked her for death…

Praise For Linda Ladd’s Claire Morgan Thrillers

“One of the most creepy, crawly, and compelling psychological thrillers ever.” —Fresh Fiction

“Chilling, compelling suspense…be prepared to lose sleep!” —Eileen Dryer

“Exciting, thrill-a-minute!” —Midwest Book Review

“Plenty of suspense and surprises.” —Publishers Weekly

 

My View:

This is the 6th novel in the Claire Morgan series – which I didn’t realise when I picked up this book; however it made very little difference to my reading pleasure though I will definitely add the past 5 books to my want to read list.

The prologue titled A Very Scary Man was creepy, insightful and worrying. I don’t know where you came across this voice Linda Ladd but it is blood chilling. I was hooked. I sat and read this in one sitting finishing late in the evening. And I was not disappointed. This novel has all the elements of a great thriller/horror story – yes at times it was horrific! The  narrator alternates between two voices, you could say the voices of good and evil and  being privilege to the insane ramblings and rationalisations of The Scary Man was frightening.

Homicide Detective Claire Morgan is a great protagonist – she is complex, has a history I really want to discover (I will catch up on this in the earlier books), she is strong, resourceful, smart and has encountered a lot of bad luck on the job. Her domestic partner is almost too good to be true – one of those rich, handsome, rugged types usually found in a romance novel… and his opulent lifestyle did take me a bit of time to get used to…maybe because I didn’t have the history of his life and character I found his lifestyle a little over the top at first. But I moved on and I was glad I did, the pace and fear factor in this story explodes on the page.  This was an engaging and pulse racing read. I haven’t felt so spooked in years! Congratulations Linda on a job well done.