Review: The Shadow Man – Helen Sarah Fields

The Shadow Man

Helen Sarah Fields

Avon

Harper Collins Aust

ISBN: 9780008394073

Description:

The brand new crime thriller from the bestselling author of the Perfect series – Helen Fields is back with her first stand-alone novel!

 

He collects his victims. But he doesn’t keep them safe.

 

Elspeth, Meggy and Xavier are locked in a flat. They don’t know where they are, and they don’t know why they’re there. They only know that the shadow man has taken them, and he won’t let them go.

 

Desperate to escape, the three of them must find a way out of their living hell, even if it means uncovering a very dark truth.

 

Because the shadow man isn’t a nightmare. He’s all too real.

 

And he’s watching.

 

Helen Fields is back with a heart-pounding new book, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Stuart MacBride.

 

 

My View:

 

Without a doubt one of the scariest, creepiest books I have read. Fabulous!!!

 

Enough said- if you crime fiction is your thing – READ THIS.

Post Script: You – Caroline Kepnes

Twisted and creepy – this read is like a macabre date with obsession and control.

You

Caroline Kepnes

Simon & Schuster (Australia)

Simon & Schuster UK

ISBN: 9781471137365

 

Description:

Gone Girl meets Fatal Attraction in Caroline Kepnes’ You, a chilling account of the twisted psychology behind unrelenting passion.

When aspiring writer Guinevere Beck strides into the bookstore where Joe works he is instantly smitten. Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: tough, razor-smart and sexier than his wildest dreams. He’d kill to have her.

Soon Beck can’t resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom made for her. When a string of macabre incidents tears her world apart there is only one person she can turn to. But there’s more to Joe than Beck realises and much more to Beck than her perfect facade. The obsessive relationship quickly spirals into a whirlwind of deadly consequences…

A chilling account of unrelenting, terrifying deceit, Caroline Kepnes’ You is a thriller more perversely clever and dangerously twisted than any YOU have ever read.

 

 

My View:

This novel is seriously creepy! With each page you wade further and further into a murky sea of obsession, lies, manipulation and control that is unsurpassed by any book I have read in a very long time – in fact I can’t think of when I have read such a deliciously creepy novel in years; there was something about this writer’s style that reminded me of early Stephen King novels – maybe it was the way goose bumps appeared on my skin as I progressed deeper and deeper into the novel. Maybe it was the very clever psychological profiling that Joe was very adept at and that he shared with the reader. Maybe it was Joe’s cold and calculating behaviours or maybe it was because very quickly you just knew that no good was in store for Beck. This narrative is a treat for all fans of the psychological thriller.

 

And this book is all the above and more – there is such wonderful wit and black humour, almost slapstick comedic moments that prevent this novel from slipping into the realms of “average”. Great writing, realistic modern conversations and great social commentary; many of Joe’s behaviours/petty crimes highlight current issues regarding how easy personal identity theft is, and comments on social media and the “look at me, look at me” tidal wave we are all too familiar with and a clear reminder here that communication via any form of social media can reveal all your secrets and vices to any one if that anyone is prepared to look hard enough.

 

A deliciously creepy and macabre read. I can easily visualise this book made into a film for the big screen.