The Perfect Gift Suggestion – Flash Giveaway

I recently discovered THE perfect gift for the writer in your life (I have a few  writers to consider this year so this will tick off a few names on my Christmas List)

win-pilot-2017-a-diary-for-writers

Pilot 2017 is bursting with features! Stay motivated and productive with weekly advice, tips and book recommendations from more than fifty inspiring authors including Benjamin Law, Anna Funder and Inga Simpson. PLUS there’s 150 competitions, festivals and awards, a years’ worth of writing prompts and tons of industry info.

Find Pilot at pilotpress.com.au  on Facebook & Instagram

 

And the wonderful people at Pilot have generously offered me a copy to give away so you can share the love too. *Australian residents only.*  This is an easy giveaway – all you have to do is click through this link.

Pilot 2017: A Diary for Writers  and look at the contents page and tell me what useful item is on page 188.

 

**I will randomly select one winner on the 14th of December 2016.

 

***Congratulations Deborah – and thanks to all who entered. ***

 

Post Script: Real Delicious – Chrissy Freer

Nutrition and flavour are not sacrificed when making any of these recipes.

Real Delicious Cover

Real Delicious

Chrissy Freer

Murdoch Books

ISBN: 9781743365960

 

Description:

Whatever happened to eating real food? In a world of fasts and fads, whirlwind diets and mealtime anxiety, isn’t it time we took back the joy of eating real, whole food and enjoyed the good health, energy and glowing vitality that can go with that? We only need to look at the increasing incidence of diabetes, food intolerances, allergies and digestive irritations and disorders to see that whatever it is we’re doing to our food, it’s not agreeing with us…In Real Delicious, Chrissy Freer will show you how quick, easy, satisfying and invigorating it is to cook and eat real food. These are simply delicious recipes to share with family and friends for your whole life…Eat real, eat well and love it!

 

 

My View:

This recipe book matches my cooking/eating preferences exactly! Give me real food any day – meals made with fresh produce, made with flavour and encompassing ingredients from the wide spectrum available to us – nutrition and flavour are not sacrificed when making any of these recipes.

 

The book is helpfully divided into chapters –

Grains

Legumes

Meat and Tofu

Eggs, Seeds and Nuts

From the Vegetable Patch

From the Sea

From the Dairy

From the Orchard

 

The recipes are easy to follow and easy to make – successes are guaranteed. What I love the most aside from the helpful descriptions/discussion regarding ingredients/nutrition under each chapter and the chapter dedicated to From The Vegetable Patch (this was always going to be a favourite for me) is the design and layout of the book; beautiful images (I love to see how a finished recipe should look /be presented) and ingredients are listed in order of use in the recipe. I cannot emphasis how important this listing of ingredients is – so many times this experienced home cook has made the mistake of getting almost to the end of a recipe to discover I have missed something out /or I am out of step with the addition of the ingredients – it make so much sense to list the ingredients in the order of their use – why don’t all cook books follow this simple rule?

 

This is the book to have on your recipe shelf!

 

 

 

 

 

Post Script – Faber and Faber Poetry Diary 2016 – Faber and Faber

Cover Faber and Faber Poetry Diary

Faber & Faber Poetry Diary 2016: Dark Blue

Various

Allen & Unwin AU

ISBN:9780571318070
rrp A$24.99

Description:

The Faber Poetry Diary for 2016 is a week-to-view diary offering poetry lovers a different poem or illustration to enjoy for each week of the year.

The Faber poetry list, originally founded in the 1920s, was shaped by the taste of T. S. Eliot who was its guiding light for nearly forty years. Since the sixties, each passing decade has seen the list grow with the addition of poets who were arguably the finest of their generation. In recent years the creation of the Poet to Poet series has further broadened the scope of Faber poetry by including the work of great poets from the past selected and introduced by the contemporary poets they have inspired.

Simon Armitage * W.H. Auden * John Berryman * John Betjeman * Thomas Campion * John Clare * Wendy Cope * Hart Crane * Daljit Nagra * Emily Dickinson * Lawrence Durrell * Dylan Thomas * T.S. Eliot * Mark Ford * Matthew Francis * Lavinia Greenlaw * David Harsent * Seamus Heaney * Robert Herrick * Ted Hughes * John Donne * Emma Jones * John Keats * Nick Laird * Philip Larkin * Dorothy Molloy * Andrew Motion * Edwin Muir * Paul Muldoon * Alice Oswald * Don Paterson * Sylvia Plath * Ezra Pound * Christopher Reid * Jo Shapcott * Percy Bysshe Shelley * Stevie Smith * Edward Thomas * Derek Walcott * W.B. Yeats *

 

 

My View:

This is the perfect gift for the poet, writer or reader in your life!

 

There is more to this diary then the very useful and practical hardcover diary, seven days to a page, aspect of this book – it is a beautiful compilation of poetry from the past and present. It is a joy to hold and to read. My personal favourites (and there are many) but I have tried to limit them to five for the purpose of this review:

 

Because I Liked You – A E Houseman

 

Modern Love – Douglas Dunn

 

The Flower That Smiles Today – Percy Bysshe Shelley

 

The Naming Of Cats – T S Eliot

 

Changes – Michael Hofmann

 

A perfect gift – though I am having second thoughts about  actually giving this one away 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Post Script: What She Left – T. R. Richmond

What She Left

What She Left

R. Richmond

Penguin UK – Michael Joseph

Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780718179366

 

Description:

What She Left is a touching and exciting novel that surprises at every turn. Recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Jane Shemilt’s Daughter.

 

The Book

When Alice Salmon died last year, the ripples were felt in the news, on the internet, and in the hearts of those who knew her best.

But the person who knows her most intimately isn’t family or a friend. Dr Jeremy Cook is an academic whose life has become about piecing together Alice’s existence in all its flawed and truthful reality.

For Cooke, faithfully recreating Alice’s life – through her diaries, emails and anything using her voice – is all-consuming. He does not know how deep his search will take him, or the shocking nature of what he will uncover…

 

 

My View:

An interesting premise, that, ironically I thought was not best delivered in electronic format (ironic as the novel relies of the footprints of social media to share this story); for me this is largely about formatting – I always enlarge the font on my ereader and consequently this disrupts the original pagination which confused me as to whose voice I was hearing and in what time frame (I am assuming that if I had read this in paperback I would have noticed the page breaks/new entries/voices and followed the story easier). Unfortunately I found the constant skipping back and forth in time a little confusing and hard work to read and not compelling. But that is just me.

 

Update – the physical book arrived in the mail this week – just flicking though it I can see it will be much easier to read and keep up with events than in the ebook.