Guest Review: Something in the Wine – Tricia Stringer

Something in the Wine

Tricia Stringer

Harlequin Enterprises (Australia) Pty Ltd

ISBN: 9781489261502

Description:

A warm-hearted rural romance set among the scenic vineyards of the Margaret River from bestselling author Tricia Stringer, the authentic voice of Australian storytelling. Reserved high school teacher Keely Mitchell is more than ready for her holiday on the west coast of Australia, so when a medical emergency turns over all her plans and an intervention by a kind stranger finds her recovering in a Margaret River vineyard, she is at first downcast.

Keely had wanted to put recent traumatic events out of her mind, and recuperating alone in a stranger’s house won’t help that. But slowly the lovely food, spectacular wine and beautiful landscape of the area begin to work their spell. As Keely makes friends with the locals and adapts to the rhythms of the vintner’s year, she starts to feel part of the scenery too, particularly when her artwork and jewellery-making somehow find a home at Levallier Dell Wines.

But clouds are on the horizon in the shape of a warring father and son, interfering family friends and a rival in love. Keely didn’t mean to fall for anyone, but she can’t help her feelings for clever, passionate wine-maker Flynn Levallier. Sadly, it seems he only has eyes for the beautiful Kat, daughter of a rival wine-maker. Can what Keely feels be real? Or is it just something in the wine?

Brenda’s Review:

Keely Mitchell was looking forward to her holiday in WA; to following her dreams and going where she wanted. But the day of her arrival in Perth, she had an unexpected medical emergency and it was only luck that had her remembering the note with the phone number in her jeans pocket. Heading to Margaret River was the last thing she thought she’d be doing, but recuperation was paramount and her respite at Levallier Dell Wines seemed fortuitous.

As Keely slowly regained her strength, her discomfort at the situation in the face of the father and son who quite obviously didn’t see eye to eye was enough to make her want to leave. But gradually, the beauty of the vineyard; the wine and food; the friendliness of the locals – all made Keely realise she loved the area. But of course she couldn’t stay. Her sketches and jewellery making kept her occupied, but she wasn’t sure it was enough.

Would Keely leave Levallier Dell with just her memories to add to her holiday experiences? Or was there more, much more that she could experience?

Another fabulous read from the pen of Aussie author Tricia Stringer! I thoroughly enjoyed Something in the Wine, as I have all this author’s work. Her descriptions are so well painted, even though I’ve never been to the area, I could visualize it all. I could see the volatile and passionate neighbour Theo; the gossiping café owner; the frustrations of both father and son – all written in an easy-to-read way. An excellent novel which I have no trouble recommending. 5 stars

With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my digital ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.

Margaret River Readers and Writers Festival 2018

A great panel discussion, “Criminal Minds” with Michael Robotham, Leigh Straw and Garry Disher this afternoon.

 

MRRWF2018

 

Tomorrow I am taking part in a workshop led by Garry Disher – “Writing Crime Fiction.” As a reader I think I will get great insights from this session.

Wallcliffe House: The Garden Wanderer – Julie Kinney

 

The Garden Wanderer

Julie Kinney

The Garden Wanderer

Margaret River Press

 

Who doesn’t love a colourful display of roses? Wallcliffe House (pp 156 -163). This historic house was burnt down during the Margaret River bush fires of  2011, however most of the gardens survived.

 Wallcliffe House

This image courtesy of Margaret River Press and Chris Gurney, photographer.

 

 

Post Script: The Garden Wanderer – Julie Kinney

The Garden Wanderer

The Garden Wanderer

Julie Kinney

 Freedom Garvey-Warr (Photographer), Chris Gurney (Photographer)

Margaret River Press

ISBN: 9780994316752

 

Description:

Take an armchair ride with around a small corner of Australia’s south-west and discover some hidden treasures in gardens of the region. Margaret River local Julie Kinney selected an eclectic 20 gardens to mark her 20 years in the region. She says, ‘there are so many wonderful gardens out there, some documented, some not, but gardens are transient beings, people move on and the garden they leave behind changes.’

 

My View:

Congratulations all round; Julie Kinney has written a beautifully restorative and fascinating show case of twenty of the Margaret River regions superb gardens, Freedom Garvey-Warr and Chris Gurney have once again graced the pages of a Margaret River Press publication with style and colour, what a superb team effort!

If you would like a private “fly on the wall” tour of some of the varied and exotic landscapes in this area, knowledgeable tour guide/gardener Julie Kinney will show you the way, pick up a copy of “The Garden Wanderer,” you will not be disappointed.

This is a must read, must have, for every gardener or would be gardener, or day dreamer or tour guide or hotel, BnB or winery in the region (and a perfect gift to send to friends/colleagues anywhere). Share some Margaret River tranquillity and natural beauty, a restful  read.

Margaret River Readers and Writers Festival 2016 Is Here Again

Margaret River Readers and Writers Festival

It is that wonderful time of the year when I get the opportunity to see and hear some fantastic authors discuss their books and the experience of writing.  Some of the writers I am particularly looking forward to seeing are Ann Turner, Liz Byrski, Natasha Lester, Rosemary Sayer, Sara Foster, Sulari Gentill, Berncie Barry…to name just a few.  And for something different author and chef Lucio Galletto will be talking about his book The Art of Traditional Italian ( yes I have a copy and will share some recipes with you soon) and as a treat you can buy tickets to a two course meal featuring the recipes  in the book cooked by our local SWIT students and hear this authors story as you eat.

 

The very first day of the festival, Friday 3rd June at 9.15 am, author Josh  Langley talks candidly to us about ghosts, hauntings, mediums and tracking down his dad Aunt (Dying to Know is the title of his book). This sound interesting!

 

This festival has so much to offer, this years them is HOME; there is humour, local writers, local stories, food, interstate guests, a spotlight on Irish culture, biographical narratives , crime fiction, romance, workshops, a chance to pitch your story to Pantera Press (update – this is now fully booked)…and more. Check out the details by clicking on the link below.

 

Margaret River is a beautiful town and region and if you get the chance to visit this upcoming long weekend I  hope we get a chance to meet.

 

For more information about the festival, the link to the website is here :http://www.margaretriver.com/event/margaret-river-readers-and-writers-festival/

 

Meaningful Connections

It is St Valentine’s Day  – a day for sharing, showing and expressing your love for and connecting with the people you love.

If you have an opportunity to some “me” time let me suggest a few titles for your reading pleasure – all share a similar them – connecting with others (reviews to come in the near future).

 

The Lovers

The Lovers

Rod Norland

Hachette Australia

Hodder Books

ISBN: 97814736007002

Description:

She is his Juliet and he is her Romeo, her family has vowed to kill them both.

A riveting, real-life equivalent of The Kite Runner—an astonishingly powerful and profoundly moving story of a young couple willing to risk everything for love that puts a human face on the ongoing debate about women’s rights in the Muslim world.

Zakia and Ali were from different tribes, but they grew up on neighboring farms in the hinterlands of Afghanistan. By the time they were young teenagers, Zakia, strikingly beautiful and fiercely opinionated, and Ali, shy and tender, had fallen in love. Defying their families, sectarian differences, cultural conventions, and Afghan civil and Islamic law, they ran away together only to live under constant threat from Zakia’s large and vengeful family, who have vowed to kill her to restore the family’s honor. They are still in hiding.

Summer Harvest

Summer Harvest

Georgina Penney

Penguin Books

ISBN: 9780143797081

Description:

English dog trainer Beth Poole is having trouble getting her life back together after beating a life-threatening illness and divorcing her husband. When her Aussie-soap-obsessed grandma sends her to Australia to recover, it seems a great opportunity for some rest and relaxation while she figures out what’s next…

Our Song

Our Song

Dani Atkins

Simon & Schuster Australia

ISBN: 9781471153297

Description:

The stunning new emotional drama from ebook phenomenon Dani Atkins, author of Fractured – perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson.

This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.

Entry Island

Entry Island

Peter May

 Quercus

ISBN: 9781782062202

Description:

When Detective Sime Mackenzie boards a light aircraft at Montreal’s St. Hubert airfield, he does so without looking back. For Sime, the 850-mile journey ahead represents an opportunity to escape the bitter blend of loneliness and regret that has come to characterise his life in the city.

Travelling as part of an eight-officer investigation team, Sime’s destination lies in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Only two kilometres wide and three long, Entry Island is home to a population of around 130 inhabitants – the wealthiest of which has just been discovered murdered in his home.

The investigation itself appears little more than a formality. The evidence points to a crime of passion: the victim’s wife the vengeful culprit. But for Sime the investigation is turned on its head when he comes face to face with the prime suspect, and is convinced that he knows her – even though they have never met.

Haunted by this certainty his insomnia becomes punctuated by dreams of a distant past on a Scottish island 3,000 miles away. Dreams in which the widow plays a leading role. Sime’s conviction becomes an obsession. And in spite of mounting evidence of her guilt he finds himself convinced of her innocence, leading to a conflict between the professonal duty he must fulfil, and the personal destiny that awaits him.