Review – Alphaprints Australian Animals: Mothers and Babies – Roger Priddy

ALPHAPRINTS AUSTRALIAN ANIMALS MOTHERS AND BABIES

BOARD BOOK

 Roger Priddy

Priddy Books

Pan Macmillan Australia

ISBN: 9781783419418

RRP $12.99

 

Description:

The much-loved Alphaprints animals, created using painter fingerprints and photographs of everyday images, are back with some hilarious results!

 

Alphaprints Australian Animals: Mothers & Babies introduces young children to Australian animals and their cute little babies, using fun rhyming text and engaging artwork to make the reading experience bright, impactful and colourful.

 

With embossing on every page, this delightful board book is filled with adorable Australian animals that children will love to look at again and again.

 

 

My View:

This is a beautifully crafted book with embossing that begs you to touch each illustration. With its colourful cheeky designs you and your toddler will enjoy sharing this read. A book created just for the Australian and New Zealand market, so relevant – I love it! This book is engaging, cheerful, tactile and fun and I love that this is a board book – so easy for little finger to hold and turn pages.

#FridayFeebie – A Murder at Malabar Hill – Sujata Massey

A Murder at Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey

Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 97817601529406

This book has won so many *awards!  For your chance to win a copy – I have five to give away, simply tell me ( in the comments) Perveens Mistery’s occupation.   ** Open to Australian residents only, winners drawn randomly on 1/2/020)**

 

*Winner and Top Pick of the 2019 American Library Association Reading List for Mystery
*Winner of the 2019 Mary Higgins Clark Award
*Winner of the 2019 Lefty Award for Best Historical Novel
*Winner of the the 2018 Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel
*Finalist for the 2019 Shamus Award
*Finalist for the 2019 Harper Lee Legal Fiction Prize

‘Marvelously plotted, richly detailed . . . This is a first-rate performance inaugurating a most promising series.’ The Washington Post

‘Perveen Mistry has all the pluck you want in a sleuthing lawyer, as well as a not-so-surprising – but decidedly welcome – proclivity for poking her nose into the business of others. The pages do indeed fly.’ The Globe and Mail

Introducing Miss Perveen Mistry, the star of an outstanding new crime series. This courageous, likeable and determined young lawyer-turned-sleuth will appeal to readers of Phryne Fisher and Precious Ramotswe in a stunning combination of crime and mystery set in 1920s Bombay.

Armed with a legal education from Oxford, Perveen Mistry has joined her father’s law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India.

Mistry Law has been appointed to execute the will of Mr Omar Farid, a wealthy mill owner who has left three widows behind. But as Perveen examines the paperwork, she notices something strange: all three wives have signed over their full inheritance to a charity. What future will they have?

Perveen is suspicious, especially since one of the widows has signed her form with an X-could she even read the document? The Farid widows live in strict seclusion, never leaving the women’s quarters or speaking to any men. With her own tragic history close to her heart, Perveen worries that the women are vulnerable to injustice.

As Perveen comes closer to the truth, tensions escalate to murder, the widows fall under suspicion and Perveen must figure out what’s really happening on Malabar Hill.

‘ . . . a splendid first instalment in what promises to be a memorable series.’ The Wall Street Journal 

Best Reads of 2019 – Crime Fiction/Mystery/Thrillers

These are my favourite genres to read and review. In this category a couple of reads really stand out – can you guess which I loved so much? Ill share then next and then add a few other great ones for you to consider adding to your TBR.

 

THE BEST crime fiction reads of 2019 are:

 

Darkness for Light

A Caleb Zelic Thriller

Emma Viskic

Echo Publishing

ISBN: 9781760685812

 

Shoot Through

J M Green

Scribe Publications

ISBN: 9781925713848

These reads were both outstanding –  as were the series they belong to.

 

More great crime fiction/thriller reads that I recommend you add to your TBR:

 

 

 

 

The Chain

 

 

Best Reads of 2019 – Romance/Life Lit/Womens Lit/Rural Fiction

In this category I prefer to read romance with a twist – a twist of social issues, a twist of crime or mystery, a twist of ….humour and fun.  Here are a couple of my favourites from 2019:

 

Love Song

Daughters of the Outback #3

Sasha Wasley

Penguin Random House Australia

Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780143784562

 

 

When it All Went to Custard

Danielle Hawkins

HarperCollins

ISBN: 9781775541417

 

 

 

 

Best Reads of 2019 – Non Fiction

Most of the books in this category will shock your with their honesty, their rawness, their personal story of struggles and sometimes, their successes. I hope you find something here that will stimulate your mind and tug at your heart.

 

The Little Girl on the Ice Floe

Adélaïde Bon

Maclehose Press

Hachette Australia

 

Imperfect

Lee Kofman

Affirm Press

ISBN: 9781925584813

 

Bowraville

Dan Box

Penguin Random House Australia

Viking

ISBN: 9780143784395

 

 

The Hormone Diaries

The Bloody Truth About Our Periods

Hannah Witton

Wren & Rook

Hachette Australia

ISBN: 9781526361462

Best Children’s Reads of 2019

This was a category that had many wonderful entrants – children’s books can be special for so may reasons; the illustrations, the prose, the language, the characters, for how many times your grandson asks you to read again 🙂

 

The Ultimate Animal Counting Book

The Ultimate Animal Counting Book

Jennifer Cossins

Hachette Australia

Lothian Children’s Books

ISBN: 9780734418852

 

 

Bluey – The Beach

Bluey

Puffin

Penguin Random House

ISBN: 9781760894054

 

The Go Away Bird

Julia Donaldson illustrated by Catherine Rayner

Macmillan Children’s Books

ISBN: 9781509843589

Best Reads of 2019 – Contemporary/Literary Fiction

I found it very hard to limit myself to just a few contenders in this category I read so many EXCEPTIONAL and many great contemporary reads last year, perhaps I read more in this category in 2019 than in my preferred genre, crime fiction. I didn’t tally and compare but that what if felt like to me, but they were books that were written elegantly, beautifully; evoking many emotions, started many discussions and shone the spotlight on some many social issues.  So many reason to love these ( in no particular order):

 

WEARING PAPER DRESSES

Anne Brinsden

Pan Macmillan Australia

https://www.panmacmillan.com.au/9781760784850/

 

 

The Confession

Jessie Burton

Pan Macmillan Australia

Picador

ISBN: 9781509886159

 

The Burnt Country

The Woolgrowers Companion #2

Joy Rhoades

Penguin Random House

Bantam

ISBN: 9780143793724

 

The Other Half of Augusta Hope

Joanna Glen

Harper Collins Publishers Australia

The Borough Press

ISBN: 9780008314163

 

The Van Apfel Girls Are Gone

Felicity McLean

Harper Collins Publishers Australia

Fourth Estate

ISBN: 9781460755068

 

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

Hachette Australia

Little Brown Books

ISBN: 9781472154651

 

Allegra in Three Parts

Suzanne Daniel

Pan Macmillan Australia

ISBN: 9781760781712

 

 

Boy Swallows the Universe

Trent Dalton

 HarperCollins Publishers Australia

ISBN: 9781460753897

***Late Entry ** I cannot believe I read this book, rated it, commented (on GoodReads) and then forgot to write my review. This was an amazing read. It blew me away. Dont you forget to add it to your TBR

 

If I have missed anyone I do apologise…there were so many exceptional reads in this category. I hope you find something you mind enjoy on this list.